Southern Fried Diary

A fabulously easy, spicy, yummy dinner
2005-03-04 @ 2:56 p.m.

A beautiful day is happening here in the ATL. Sunny, not too cold, absolutely gorgeous and I am at work until 8 pm. Damn. The whole weekend is supposed to be nice though, so I have high hopes for Sunday.

Here is a recipe for you that I made for me and Bad a couple of nights ago. My wine of choice with this was a white Rhone. You could easily turn this into a vegitarian dish by using beans (just about any kind)instead of chicken and veggie or mushroom (my preference - I don't like veggie broth) broth or buillion. I may try that next time.

Spicy Chicken and Greens

olive oil
minced garlic
chopped onion
mixed greens
chopped fresh jalapeno
chicken buillion
cumin
chili powder
worcestershire sauce
boneless chicken thighs
chopped tomato
chopped cilantro
chopped green onions

Saute garlic, onion, jalapeno and greens in olive oil for a couple of minutes, until you can smell the onion and garlic. I used turnip greens and kale broken into bite-size pieces. Add buillion (2 cubes per one cup water -n I used 2 cups water and 4 cubes buillion), cumin, chili powder, worcestershire sauce and boil to begin to soften the greens. Add chicken thighs to the skillet and cover to braise, turning once when the down side is brown. When the chicken is cooked add tomato, cilantro and green onions and simmer just long enough to consolidate the flavors.

Serve with rice or cous cous.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood