Southern Fried Diary

Ice and thaw
2005-01-31 @ 10:28 a.m.

Today is my third day in a row off. Saturday we got iced in, so I couldn't go to work, and today is my day off for this week.

Yesterday Badsnake and I went out for sushi for lunch and saw Million Dollar Baby. A phenomenal movie, but not easy to watch. In the evening family dinner was steak, boiled potatoes and green beans from the garden that have been in the freezer. Yummy. And of course the company was great. I love my family. They have brought me through a lot. Now we can have fun again.

I've been making a lot of freezer meals lately because my goal has been to empty the freezer out enough to defrost it. It has been badly in need. Then Friday I came up with an inspired idea. I took everything that was left in the freezer and put it in two zip-up coolers and set it outside. I did that Saturday morning and all day Saturday it stayed plenty cold enough to keep the food frozen. The only reason for the coolers was to have something to put the food in that critters couldn't get to. By Sunday morning the freezer was completely defrosted and dry so I could turn it back on and put the food back in. That was so damn easy! I ought to do that every winter. Well, maybe not every winter.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood