Southern Fried Diary

Makes it hard to go back to work
2005-02-01 @ 12:14 p.m.

Yesterday was a great day. I started it by clearing out a room in our house that we have not been able to get all the way into for about a year. Stuff just kept piling up on top of stuff, so that it got to the point that it looked like such a daunting job that neither one of us wanted to tackle it. It took me three hours yesterday, but it finally looks like a room in the house again instead of storage shed. All day I kept having to walk back into the room to see how good it looked. There is something very satisfying to me about cleaning and organizing.

After a break for lunch and walking the dog I finally got to get out in the cottage to do some potting. Since there's no heat in my workshop, and pottery is such a wet endeavor, I can't work out there on the colder days. I have a small heater but it really doesn't do much. Yesterday I finally got on the wheel for a while. And - I finally came up with a lid style I like. I like making pots with lids, but the lids have been a real challenge for me. You have to make them just the right size so they fit the pot, and then either the pot or the lid has to have a flange of some kind on it to keep the top on. After struggling with various ways to throw a lid that I've been taught or read, I finally came up with my own way of doing it that just suddenly seemed to come naturally. I didn't even realized I'd come up with a unique style until this morning. I threw two pots and lids yesterday. I need to get back out there soon and do it again so it continues to come naturally. Now I just hope I don't screw it up in the trimming process.

After a shower Badsnake got home, and we had a lovely attic date. It's better to get me earlier in the evening before dinner and wine mellow me out too much. You'll have to get Bad's attention if you want any details. I will tell you that the attic is cold this time of year, and this morning when I was toweling myself off after my shower, I noticed a couple of sore places on my back that gave me some very nice memories.

For dinner I had thawed out some leftover spaghetti, knowing I wouldn't want to cook after our pre-arranged date. We relaxed on the sofa after dinner, all cuddly and snuggly.

All in all, it was one of my better days off lately.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood