Southern Fried Diary

Tuna Olive Pasta Salad
2004-07-22 @ 3:40 p.m.

Summertime Tuna Olive Pasta Salad

Canned tuna, drained

Orzo pasta, cooked

a bit of olive oil

a bit of white vinegar

sliced or chopped black olives

sliced or chopped green olives

a bit of dill (dried or fresh will work)

salt and pepper

chopped tomatoes

Cook the pasta first and let it cool a little. I used a couple of handfuls of orzo pasta and cooked it until soft but firm.

I used one of the larger size cans of tuna. Actually, I used it's equivalent in one of those new fangled foil pouches, and I didn't have to drain it. Drizzle olive oil and vinegar on the tuna. Add olives, dill, cooled pasta, salt and pepper. I left the tomatoes separate 'cause if you have leftovers the tomatoes will go bad early and ruin the rest. Besides, it looks pretty to sprinkle some chopped tomatoes on top of the rest in the bowl or on the plate.

Voila! Easy, quick, healthy summer dinner. I think it would also be good with some crushed red peppers, but I think everything is good with crushed red peppers, except maybe ice cream.

I drank a dry Riesling with it (Cousino Macul Dona Isadora) that worked well. I think a dry Ros� would be good, too.

I know it's been a long time and there is a lot to catch up on, but let's just start with a simple recipe. I will tell you that good drugs, the right good drugs, can make all the difference.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood