Southern Fried Diary

She's a dirty girl
2004-07-23 @ 3:31 p.m.

Pottery, especially beaded pottery, is still my passion. Actually it has a more calming influence than what I would usually think of as "passion". It's like meditation when I'm really concentrating. I've been putting together a helluva workshop in the back cottage. Up until a few days ago, the cottage was my hand-building space (I like my pinch pots as much as my thrown pots), and I went to the pottery studio to throw, trim and glaze.

On Sunday my cottage workshop expanded it possibilities when Ricky and Lucy (beloved across the street neighbors) loaned me a wheel. Loaned me a wheel! And it's a good one. It's a Brent model A, if that means anything to you, that Ricky found next to a dumpster a couple of years ago. Lucy is also interested in pottery but hasn't taken it up yet, so I get the benefit of Ricky's good eye for trash that isn't trash until she's ready for it. It needed some minor repairs, which he did, and I'm up and throwing in my own back yard! I still can't get over it.

I've been shopping for amenities, like citronella candles (ineffective screen door) and finally broke down and started using a fan out there. I've got it cleaned up enough that it doesn't stir up too much dust. Jake and Sara gave me a Hello Kitty boom box for my workshop at Christmas and Jake made me a compilation cd of kick-ass girl music, so I have good tunes while I work. Sometimes my dog comes out and lays down on the cool concrete floor to keep me company. I love it!

You can see examples of my work at the website Badsnake put together for me - www.dirtygirlpottery.com

Cool, huh? It needs to be updated with new work, and the first time I sent a potential customer there, I realized it could use some pricing info. But it gives you an idea of what I'm doing.

I worked my first festival in my own little neighborhood in the Spring and sold $85 worth of pots and jewelry on a rainy Saturday and a hot, muggy Sunday. I'm a pro! I can't do many festivals because it's hard for me to take Saturdays off, but I'm shooting for a bigger one in the fall.

So now you know most of what I've been doing for the past few months - potting. My garden is also doing well. More on that, and fun with pharmaceuticals, later.

Love ya,

Deb

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood