Southern Fried Diary

Whine and food
2003-11-20 @ 2:57 p.m.

Beautiful day in Hotlanta and I�m feeling good. I�ve been either sick or depressed for a couple of days, probably mostly depressed. But I�m up and running now. I had a difficult therapy session yesterday, but I think I resolved an important issue for myself in the process. Resolutions aren�t always positive, but they are always a step forward.

Have I mentioned that I�m going to be in my first art show? I dropped off six pieces of beaded pottery Tuesday. The show goes up November 28 and the Artists Reception is December 4. I was afraid I was going to have to miss the reception, but I get to be there. I get to be an artist at an artists reception. I�m all a-quiver.

I need to sign off on this entry before work completely destroys my good mood. It�s amazing how fast this place can suck it out of me no matter how hard I try to hold onto it.

I just had shrimp and grits for the first time ever. I find it interesting the way people talk about Southern food as if the whole southeastern United States shared one style of cooking. There are actually many different styles depending on which area you are in. New Orleans and Louisiana have a distinct flavor (actually two � Cajun and Creole). The Tennessee mountains (where I�m from) have a very different style of food from the coastal areas. Inland Georgia and Tennessee even have different styles. And then there�s barbecue. Don�t get a Georgian and a North Carolinian started on barbecue. You could be there all day. And I just recently found out why Southerners have a reputation for eating dirt. Kaolin, which is found in a certain type of soil, is good for relieving upset stomachs, and apparently women especially have been known to crave dirt when their stomachs ache. Maybe if I had stayed in graduate school a comparison of different styles of Southern cooking would make a good dissertation topic. But someone else has done it, probably more than once.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood