Southern Fried Diary

For juju
2003-11-13 @ 4:47 p.m.

For juju:

The best thing to have with a bottle of Cabernet, any Cabernet is a hunk of beef. Of course that�s coming from a longtime committed carnivore. Cabernet is not good with spicy food and it will overwhelm lighter foods. I think Cabernet goes well with most cheese, so a cheesy vegetable dish if you aren�t the meat eater I am. I haven�t had Smoking Loon Cabernet, but I tasted a couple of other Smoking Loon wines recently and my guess is that the Cab will be a little bit on the lighter side with little tannin, so it would probably even do well with a pork roast or pork chops.

I miss my recipes and wine pairings too. But they take a little more prep than just sharing feelings and recent events off the top of my head and I�ve gotten a bit lazy about this diary. But I�ll come up with something good for you soon.

Today, Publix has a special on shrimp, and we haven�t had shrimp in a while. So I�m going to get some of those medium-sized babies and cook them my favorite way, sauteed in olive oil with a little garlic and served over pasta. I�ll serve a veggie of some kind, maybe I�ll toss some broccoli in with the shrimp to saut�. Then a little Parmesan cheese on top, yum. Serve that with Sauvignon Blanc or Rueda. Rueda is a Spanish white wine that you can often find dirt cheap for a good wine. We have one made by Palacio de Menade called Cuvee R.S. for about $7 or $8 that is very good.

Cheers!

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood