Southern Fried Diary

Post-doctoral classes
2003-11-13 @ 1:16 p.m.

Damn! It�s a beautiful day! It�s sunny and windy and brisk. It�s finally starting to cool down here. I love this weather. I�m in such a freaking good mood today, I feel like I�ve over-medicated myself. I didn�t � but I have done that on a couple of Saturdays (accidentally). It made me much more cheerful for dealing with the Saturday assholes, but by the end of the day I�d worn myself completely to a nub � not worth it.

Yesterday I waited around the house on the heater guy to come check out the heating in both houses to make sure everything is ready for winter. So while I waited I got to put a second coat of paint on one of the kitchen cabinets and primer around the window. I�m painting the cabinets red (Bad would call it pink, it�s kind of a dark pinkish red). I love the color. The walls and possible the lower cabinets are going to be yellow, but Bad and I still have to negotiate a shade of yellow. She wants a warm gold and I want bright lemony yellow. Hopefully there�s an in-between we can compromise on. For Thanksgiving it will just be in progress. Bad�s mother is coming to dinner on Thanksgiving, so we�ll get to see what she thinks (yea � sarcasm).

I also went to the pottery studio. Now there�s a surprise. I went to the pottery studio on my day off. (more sarcasm) I�m feeling like an old-hand potter. I�m excited about putting my beaded pottery in the holiday show. (did I mention that I will have some pieces in the studio�s holiday show and sale? I even have my name on the promotional postcard!) It is so different from what anyone else is doing that I�m anxious to hear responses to it. I wish I could still put up photos here. I�d make Bad take a picture and show y�all what I�m doing. (Yeah, I noticed that my images have disappeared. Didn�t renew my gold. I�ll have to get somebody to redesign the page.)

As far as home and family goes � I�m back to jealousy. It�s like a dug through layers of archeological personal shit just to get back to dealing with jealousy. I feel like I need a damn twelve-step program or something. �Hi, I�m Deb and I�m jealous.� (all respond � �Hi Deb�) But I�m much more capable of coping now. Jake and I are making loads of progress. I�m reading Ethical Slut again. I think this is the third time I�ve read the Jealousy chapter. Maybe this time I�ll get it. But, lest you think I�m being too self-deprecating, my confidence has improved tremendously. I am feeling much more capable of asking for what I need. But also more capable of accepting that I may not always get it, and negotiating. If life is a learning process, then we�ll call polyamory graduate school.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood