Southern Fried Diary

Playing in dirt times two
2003-09-11 @ 1:59 p.m.

It is a beautiful fall morning and I am in the best mood I�ve been in a long time. Possibly because fall has always been my favorite time of year. I love the transition from hot to sunny and cool. I also like the springtime transition from cold to warm, but for some reason fall gets my blood flowing more. I walked out into the breezy sunshine this morning with a smile on my face and a quiet resolve.

Vacation had it ups and downs, but since I�m in such a good mood this morning I�ll call it mostly good. The weather was good, even when tropical storm Henri came through we enjoyed watching the waves roll in from the condo window. Bad, Jake and I even got out in the warm rain of the early stages of the storm to watch some kids trying to surf.

The tortilla making went great. I bought a bag of masa harina and followed the instructions on the bag (fortunately they were in English). We are blessed with many good Mexican grocery markets in the Atlanta area. I used a rolling pin instead of a tortilla press and that worked just fine. I cooked them one at a time in a non-stick skillet (a cast iron skillet might have been better but the vacation condo wasn�t equipped with one � I�ll try that next). The tortillas were good, crispy and warm. It has become tradition to make a big pot of pinto beans and ham on vacation and the tortillas were great with the beans.

Yesterday was a great day off for me. I slept in (one of my very favorite things to do on my day off), took the dog for a nice walk and did some gardening in the early part of the day. It was amazing weather (kinda like today), sunny and cool. I got some dead stuff cleaned up and weeding done. I even emptied the rain barrel into the gardens. I was a happy sweaty mess.

Then I went to the pottery studio. I think I�ve found something I like even better than sleeping in. This is becoming a real passion for me. I glazed several pieces that had been waiting for me since before vacation. I also trimmed a couple of pieces that I threw on Sunday and threw a couple more pieces. Right now I�m working mostly with easier pieces; bowls, small vases and like that. Yesterday I did my first plates, actually they were pasta bowls, but they are so similar to plates they count. Plates are the hardest things I�ve done so far. The part I love best is the actual wheel work. I love shaping the clay on the wheel. Everything else is just what it takes to make a finished piece. I�m going back to the studio after work today. The monthly membership allows me to go as often as I want and there is always someone there to ask questions of or get help from. It is a very comfortable laid back place. For anyone in the Atlanta area, I highly recommend Mudfire. They have a website, but I forgot how to give you a link.

They are http://mudfire.com/

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood