Southern Fried Diary

Asking myself, why?
2003-08-25 @ 4:30 p.m.

I have often wondered why I keep this job. My boss is a sexist jerk, and the day to day rhythm of the job ranges from tedious and boring this time of year to completely crazy and hectic during the holidays. I particularly dislike the crazy and hectic part.

One of my favorite co-workers told me this weekend that he is leaving in January for a more challenging job. I have seen lots of people I like come and go here, usually on to bigger and better things. Whenever that happens I, once again, ask myself why I am still here.

Part of the reason is that I don't care one way or the other whether my job is challenging. Also I am not motivated by money. The most important thing in the world to me is spending time with the people I love. I get my important challenges at home through creative projects and relationships. As long as a job keeps me fed and healthy, I don't seem to need more than that from my vocation. I have learned a lot here about wine, and I've enjoyed that. There is also a fair amount of flexibility of schedule, and I like that. If my boss becomes unbearable (and that wouldn't take a huge step for him) then I will move on. But as long as the day to day is bearable, I guess I'll stay here. But ask me again around Christmas.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood