Southern Fried Diary

Art work and cat poop
2003-08-20 @ 4:18 p.m.

Great evening at the pottery studio yesterday. I'm actually pretty good at this, and I get better every time I throw. My goal for yesterday was to make six bowls and keep two or three. But I liked all the bowls I made too much to recycle any. Tomorrow I'm going to get to glaze the first few pieces I made. But the pieces I did yesterday are so much better, I'm hesitant to bring my first pieces home. Not that they're not good, I just want to show off how much better I am.

Today I've been beading and playing with the band saw. I found out why they call it a band saw. I had to open it up twice today to put the blade back on it's track. It's a long round blade, kinda like the little rubber belts in car engine. Instead of going up and down it goes all the way around on three rotating metal wheels. I cut a daisy and a butterfly out of wood today (wood from a wine crate) and then painted them. Eventually I'm going to make clocks out of them, maybe adding wire and beads.

One of the disadvantages of beading is that you know exactly how dirty your floor it. Mine is filthy. You can't help but drop beads and then you are down on hands and knees looking for them and finding dog hairs, little pieces of trash and tiny pieces of cat litter that the dog has been dragging around the house after snacking on cat poop (dogs do that). Yuck!

I can't wait to learn about glazing and finally finish a piece of pottery!

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood