Southern Fried Diary

Sleepless, sweaty nights, and not in a good way
2003-08-07 @ 3:44 p.m.

My sleep patterns are all fucked up these days. Last night I didn't sleep well at all. Night before last I slept solidly for about 11 hours. Before that I slept so little I called in a couple of hours late to work so I could try to get some more sleep.

It's bad enough that Badsnake and I haven't been able to sleep together much lately. Most nights I start out in bed with her, but at some point in the night I wake up and can't go back to sleep. I've discovered that if I go upstairs to one of the beds in the attic I can sleep better because I can toss and turn and sweat without worrying about waking her up. Some nights, like last night, I know from the beginning I'm going to have trouble sleeping so I start out in the attic. Pari-menopause is just finding more and more ways to kick my butt.

I'm also having radical energy swings that are completely unrelated to the amount of sleep I get. One day I'll be fine and energetic. The next I'll have no energy at all, like someone stuck a hose in me and drained it all out. Soy supplements and black cohosh have been recommended to me for the energy problem and the hot flashes and night sweats so I'm taking those (that makes 8 pills every morning including vitamins - who needs breakfast?). But, unlike pharmaceuticals, herbal remedies have to build up in your system before you see results. My friends assure me the soy and black cohosh will help, so I'll give it some time. I'm also picking up recipes for tofu and other soy foods. By the time my girls get to this stage, I'll be ready for them.

One good thing comes out of sleepless nights. I made three floggers last night: a shoelace flogger for Anat, a beaded flogger for Jake and nylon cord flogger with the cord ends burned to sting nicely. Maybe that one will be for me.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood