Southern Fried Diary

Pottery lesson
2003-08-06 @ 12:57 p.m.

Yesterday I had my first lesson in throwing pottery on a wheel. I loved it! I can't wait to go back. It falls right into the category of things I love to do with my hands - baking bread, massage. It's all about touch and feel, so I need to go back soon while I still remember what it feels like in my hands. It hurts my back (if I try to do sit too long over the wheel) and dries out my hands, and I love it! I made two bowls and a small vase yesterday. When I go back I will trim them and get them ready to fire. Then make some more! I've joined the pottery studio for three months because they were having a summer special. So I have lots of time to learn and get better. I'm anxious to bring home my first finished piece to show off.

Today I'm having a much needed stay at home and relax day. I already did my nails (sparkly mauve - Bad will make things easy and just call it pink). Did everyone else already know that it's a bad idea to paint your nails outside in this much humidity? It's taken me a year to figure out that's what's causing the bubbling. I've also been reading in a pottery book, sort of reinforcing things I learned last night. I want to do some beading. I have several projects to work on, including more floggers (I just love floggers!).

My craft projects have given me a new-found interest in power tools. Yesterday I found myself shopping the sale table at Ace Hardware! I needed a tiny drill bit for metal because I'm beading some metal yard art. But I picked up a couple of other things too. Someday I think I'd like to have a pottery wheel at home, but I would need a wheel and a kiln, I guess, and that's an investment. Maybe after I've gotten better at it. I've already been playing with the table saw in the cottage out back (a perfect place for a pottery wheel and kiln, by the way), and that's made me want to do more woodworking. It's too bad I can't just stay home all the time and do craft projects and be a housewife. We're hoping to retire me (from my job) at 55, and that's less than 10 years away. So I'll just look forward to that.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood