Southern Fried Diary

Birthday dinner and hope for the future
2003-07-21 @ 4:11 p.m.

Today is Badsnake's birthday. We had her birthday family dinner last night, and the four of us went miniature golfing Saturday night, also for her birthday. Appropriately enough, she won. But we all had fun.

Instead of a cake, Bad wanted a blackberry pie for her birthday. Fruit pies are so easy.

Blackberry Pie

2 12 oz bags frozen blackberries

2/3 cup sugar

3 tbsp cornstarch

1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Just mix it all together so that the dry ingredients coat the blackberries. I don't even wait for the berries to thaw. I use the Pillsbury pie shells that come folded instead of in a pie plate because I like to use my own pie plate. Dump the berry mixture into the pie shell. I wanted to put a top crust on the pie and get a little fancy with it, so I laid the top crust out on parchment paper and used cookie cutters to cut little people in it (four, of course) and a few hearts. Some were cut in as holes, others were the cut outs laid on top of the crust. Coat the crust with milk and a little sugar so it will brown. Bake until the berries get bubbly (about 45 min.).

The pie turned out good. For supper we had steak and vegies. We had the last of the scallop squash from the garden and the first of the eggplant. I really liked the way I did the eggplant. It is the skinny Japanese kind. I marinated it in soy sauce for about 30 min. before cooking it, then stir-fried it with basil and a little hot pepper in olive oil. It was very good.

With dinner we had Vinum Pets Petit Syrah. It was the first time I've had that particular Petit Syrah. It has a very cute dog on the label, and the wine is good, too. It has rich and intense fruit without being jammy sweet like some of the less expensive Petit Syrah are. It also has a little wood on it. We sell it for $12.99.

It feels like things are getting back to normal at the Ranch. I don't seem to be scaring my loved ones so much. Jake and I still have some things to work out, but I feel more and more confident that we will indeed work them out. I'm learning to trust the people I should be trusting. Bad and I have also been improving our communication skills with each other. All in all, things are looking up.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood