Southern Fried Diary

Just a taste
2003-07-14 @ 7:10 p.m.

Family issues are at the forefront of my mind lately (again? still?) and I�ve been having trouble trying to figure out how to write about them. Last night�s family dinner felt more normal than it has in a while. Or maybe it�s just that it�s been a while since we�ve had a family dinner with just the four of us. We were sitting in the living room all together watching the Simpson�s after dinner and I had an almost d�j� vu type feeling that I realized was just about us feeling almost normal again.

But overall, my relationship with Jake is still sketchy at best. Don�t get me wrong, when she�s in a good mood and we�re able to squeeze in some time together, we have a great time. But just as it was beginning to feel like we might get back to a place of strong connection and good communication, her job stress kicked her in the teeth. For whatever reason, I don�t seem to be high on the priority list at the moment, so trying to make time for me just seems to add to her stress level. So once again our relationship connection is about equivalent to the tiny white ribbon someone used to tie up a sunflower in the garden this weekend. I�m doing the best I can to let her have the space she needs and not tug the connection, such as it is, loose. Sometimes my angry, rebellious side wants to give that thread a yank and test it. But that doesn�t do any of us any good.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood