Southern Fried Diary

Chicken piccata
2003-07-14 @ 4:20 p.m.

Last night I made chicken piccata for dinner. I didn't follow a recipe, per se, but this is based on one I found in a low fat Italian cookbook. Anat and I agreed yesterday that low-fat and Italian don't usually go together very well, but this is pretty low in fat and still good.

Chicken Piccata

Boneless chicken breasts

Olive oil

Minced garlic

Salt and pepper

Fresh lemon juice

Dry white wine

Chicken broth

Flour

Capers

Fresh parsley, chopped

I browned the chicken breasts in a skillet with the olive oil and garlic. Traditionally you would pound the breasts into very thin medallions, but I hadn�t taken out the breasts early enough for them to be completely thawed, so I just cut them in half (to give the option of smaller portions) and browned them. Salt and pepper them while the uncooked side is still up. I have this idea that the flavor gets into the meat better if you season it before it starts cooking. Don�t know if that�s true. Maybe it�s just my superstition.

After browing the chicken on both sides and move it to a platter in a warm oven. Add lemon juice (1 to 2 lemons for 4 med. size breasts) and wine (I actually used a dry rose instead of white because I happened to have it open. It worked out fine. About a half cup for the same 4 breasts.) to the skillet and reduce over med-high heat. I used about a quarter to a half cup of chicken broth to mix about a tablespoon of flour into and then added this mixture to the skillet and stirred until it began to thicken. Add capers and parsley and put the chicken breasts back in the skillet. Reduce heat to low and cover it until you are ready to eat. I served the chicken with rice and green beans. I had a dry rose with dinner � again, because it was open � but a crisper white would have been better � a Sauvignon Blanc or Italian white.

We also opened the first jar of my homemade refrigerator pickles yesterday evening and they were very good. I like the recipe. It is simple and tasty. The pickles have a little sweetness to them along with the dill and a very black peppery finish. I think I put a link to the recipe in an earlier entry.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood