Southern Fried Diary

Slaying the dragon
2003-02-11 @ 12:24 p.m.

Yesterday was a dragon spewing fire and snatching at me with big sharp claws. But I survived. You might even say I conquered the dragon, and I only cried once, at the end of the day when I was exhausted and alone.

Yesterday morning we finally decided that Badsnake needed to go to the Emergency Room. She has been sick since last Wednesday with a fluctuating fever that�s gone up to 103 degrees. She�s had bad teeth clattering chills and she�s been sweating so much at night that she was soaking the sheets and couldn�t get rehydrated. So yesterday we went to the ER and they pumped her with 2 liters of fluid through IV. The dehydration has given her a monster headache that wouldn�t go away and they finally got rid of it with Dilaudid.

We left the house around 10:30 in the morning and got back around 8:15 p.m. Big thanks to our girlfriends. Jake had taken care of the pets and even changed the sheets on our bed and put the sweaty sheets in the wash. I had to go to work as soon as I got Bad home and settled (I was scheduled to close and, even though there were two other people working, neither one of them knew how to close the store. One of them was there to train for just that purpose.). Sara came over and kept Bad company while I went back to work so I didn�t feel so bad about leaving my heavily drugged baby at home.

The worst part (for me) was that I had to be a grown-up all day long. That�s very tiring and I don�t enjoy it at all. I gave myself one break when Bad got her Dilaudid. She went right to sleep and I finally got to go get something to eat (at 4:30 p.m.) Across the street from the hospital was a cute little bar so I treated myself to an appetizer, a salad and a beer (yay, a beer) for lunch. She was still asleep when I got back. I got a lot of reading done yesterday.

Today I am still exhausted even though I got plenty of sleep last night. More than anything I need to be held and petted.

Bad is doing much better. They gave her some good drugs to take for the headache and some antibiotics. She is trying to stay hydrated, but she still had a sweaty night last night. She is getting plenty of sleep, though, since the headache is gone, and that should help. I�m sure you�ll all hear from her soon.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood