Southern Fried Diary

Weekend highlights
2003-01-14 @ 2:03 p.m.

Bad and I had a great weekend in St. Mary's. She has all kinds of pictures and stories to tell you, so I'll let her do most of that.

As always I loved going to Cumberland Island, even this time of year when the wind whipping across the boat going over is sooooo cold. Of course we had to stay outside and watch the scenery go by instead of going inside where it was warm like the smart people. But it was just too beautiful to miss - the marsh grass, the water, the ducks, the dolphins racing beside the boat for part of the way, and the island itself with it's beaches and live oaks. The papermills and the submarine base don't add anything to the beauty of the scenery, but there's nothing we can do about that, I guess. Times like that always put me in mind of The Monkey Wrench Gang (a wonderful book I read a long time ago by Edward Abbey). I wish I could bring myself to do some guerilla environmental preservation.

Getting back to the B&B for hot tea and a hot shower was also a treat. We warmed up for a while and then went to dinner a surprisingly good, very small Italian restaurant. We shared an appetizer of Mussels Fra Diavlo (mussels in a spicy marinara sauce) that was wonderful. I had Tortellini Rose (tortellini in a tomato cream sauce) and Bad had beef medallions wrapped in bacon with some yummy saut�ed veggies and roasted potatoes. Wow! It was great, especially because Saturday night's dinner was a bust. I wanted to get seafood and we took the recommendation of the desk clerk at the hotel we stayed in the first night. If I had ordered some kind of fried seafood or steak (like Bad did), I probably would have enjoyed it more. But I wanted broiled seafood. They charged extra for broiled, which is something they apparently don't do often enough to be any good at it. Also, the shrimp had been frozen to the point that it was tasteless. AND the wine and beer selections were both so bad I had iced tea with my dinner. Bad says I need to learn to order like a man at places like that.

And speaking of food for men - we ate barbecue for lunch on the way back at a place called The Georgia Pig just off Interstate 95 at hwy 17. That was some good barbecue - and great Brunswick stew (us being just spitting distance from Brunswick).

The highlight of Monday for me was my shopping trip to the craft store (Old Town Crafts, if you're ever in St. Mary's stop in). It has more stamping stuff than beading, but since I do a little rubber stamping and we needed gifts for Sara, that was okay. I also got some really cool beads, charms, wire and stuff. Now I can't wait to have some time to work on stuff. I also saw a bracelet that I want to make one like in a gift shop in St. Mary's. These days when I see beaded jewelry I tend to study it with an eye toward technique. Whereas I used to covet the jewelry itself, now I study it and make my own, yippee! Not that it's any cheaper this way. I spent way too much at the craft store. But the owner loves me!

Now I'm home and back at work. I enjoyed getting to see the girls when we got home last night. I like getting away for a romantic weekend with just me and Bad (and it was a beautifully romantic weekend), but I miss the girls, too. I think we're having family dinner tomorrow night, so I'll get to cook something fun and enjoy time with my whole family. Tonight I'll make a quick stir-fry and do some beading - yea!

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood