Southern Fried Diary

Soup Weather
2002-11-08 @ 1:57 p.m.

I got to sit outside this morning at my coffee shop to have breakfast, write in my paper journal and read. It was a beautiful morning, sunny and just a little cool. I love living in a place where there are days like this in November.

This afternoon I get to see my chiropractor. I'm really looking forward to that. My shoulders are a bit knotted. But I still have (does this qualify as date report material?) slight markings on my back from Sunday's luscious beating (okay, that probably did, sorry). When I get my massage after the adjustment, do you think she'll ask me about them?

It's soup weather, and I haven't given you a good recipe in a while. Tuesday night I made Kielbasa and Cabbage Soup, wholesome comfort food for a sick girlfriend and a friend going through girlfriend drama. Even the girls who don't like cabbage enjoyed it, though I saw a small pile of uneaten cabbage left in one bowl. How does one eat all the soup leaving only a little pile of chopped, cooked cabbage? She's talented.

Kielbasa and Cabbage Soup

Kielbasa, cut to about 1 inch thick

Cabbage, chopped small

Olive oil

Garlic, minced

2 medium potatoes, chopped to bite size

Chicken broth

Salt and pepper

Red pepper flakes

I heated the garlic in olive oil until it was aromatic. Then added the kielbasa to saute briefly. Add about a quart and a half of chicken broth and the potatoes and bring to a boil. Cook on med.-high until the potatoes are close to done. Add everything else and cook until the potatoes are soft. I used the whole package of turkey kielbasa (2 long links) and about a third of a head of cabbage. The soup served five with enough leftover for one lunch the next day. It is hearty and healthy and tasty. Badsnake called it peasant soup. I like that. Alsatian or German wine would go well with the soup, or have beer or cider. Or if you're fighting off a cold drink lots of water with it.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood