Southern Fried Diary

Sweet Home and then some
2002-10-21 @ 7:10 p.m.

I know I've said this before, but I am so in love with my family.

This was a fantastic weekend for me with lots of play time and a dash of learning experience.

Friday night Jake made her famous Potato Dumpling Soup for all of us, because our girls are sick, and it's wonderful comfort food for sick girls. Maybe we can talk her into a guest entry.

Saturday after I got home from work the four of us and Anat went to dinner at the Corner Tavern and then to a hat hootenany. Badsnake gives her rendition of the party. All I can add is that I found myself feeling very flirtatious with Anat. A very unusual experience for me, being attracted to such a femmy girl. The flirtation is fun, but following up on it would just make life entirely too complicated.

Sunday Anat and I went shopping together at Value Village and the DeKalb Farmer's Market. I was delighted to be able to share this Farmer's Market with Anat. It is my favorite grocery shopping experience in the Atlanta area. We gorged on spices and rices, veggies, meats and other treats until the aroma inside the car on the way home made us both hungry. But Anat out ran me in the shopping marathon. After we split up and I went home for hot tea and some much-needed rest, Anat went to a mall to continue the orgy. I am in awe.

Family dinner was meatloaf, mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus. We were afraid that Sara wouldn't be able to join us because she was in the worst stage of whatever illness she and Badsnake are sharing. But she managed to get out of bed long enough be social with the family, and she seemed to be feeling somewhat better though she still didn't go to work last night. I will be so glad when the two of them are feeling better - and not just because there will be less chance of me getting it at that point.

This morning was my therapy session before coming to work. After therapy I always treat myself to lunch at Sundown Caf�, complete with paper journalling and reading until time to go to work. Sundown is my very favorite place to lunch in Atlanta, and now they know my name. Apparently I've been coming in often enough lately that they remember me and call me by name. Way cool. I love that.

This weekend I learned that I don't have to worry so much about what other people want or need. It is my habit to be so concerned about making other people happy that I speculate on what that might be and then act on my speculations. Sometimes that screws me up. Instead, I can wait to let folks tell me if there is something they want or need from me, and in the meantime I only have to make myself happy. Ever had a truly Wow moment and then think "I bet other people know that without having to go to therapy or learn it from patient, loving girlfriends?"

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood