Southern Fried Diary

Late nights and chicken lumps
2002-10-11 @ 2:23 p.m.

This morning I rode MARTA with Badsnake. I have to get up earlier than usual, but I get to have breakfast and some quiet time at the bagel shop before I go to work. I usually use that time to write in my paper journal and read. It makes for a very nice morning. Then Jake picks me up at work at the end of the day. Today we both have appointments with our chiropractor on the way home. I�m really looking forward to that, and I know Jake is, too.

Along the train route each stop is announced over an intercom as it comes up (but, as Anat pointed out, only in English). Some drivers use the recorded announcements and some do their own (some, for an unknown reason, do both). It always a very formal identification of the name of the stop and the important destinations at that stop. This morning we got to the Garnett St. stop and the driver announced, as usual, that it was the stop for the Pre-Trial Detention Center. Then he added �a.k.a. the city jail.� Apparently I wasn�t the only one who�d never heard a driver add that more colloquial translation because several people besides me cracked up. If you are headed to an appointment at the Atlanta Pre-Trial Detention Center, is it possible that you would not know that it�s the same thing as the city jail? Maybe the question should be asked the other way around. If you are headed for the city jail, maybe you don�t realize that the more official name is the Pre-Trial Detention Center. I must admit that the �Pre-Trial Detention Center� sounds like a much nicer place to visit than the �city jail.�

It�s been a hectic week at the Rancho. Besides keeping up with Bad�s daily assignations (what time should I expect to see you this evening honey? before or after your date?), we are welcoming Anat to our smog-infested city. Last night Jake and I went with Anat and her girlfriend to hear friend Martha do a fabulous reading at the Tower as part of Ladyfest (going on this weekend in Atlanta). Most of the other readings were better than I expected (the first couple didn�t set me up with high expectations). There was also an awesome set of photos hanging on one wall (the wall we sat in front of, naturally) that included the prettiest ass paddled a bright shade of red by a hunky Daddy-type in leather. Bonus!

Night before last Anat and Girlfriend joined us for dinner again at the Rancho. I tried a variation on Green Bean Casserole. You know, the one your mother made for Thanksgiving every year? The only reason you ever buy those crispy fried onion things. I added chicken breasts to make it a main course and served it with rice.

Green Bean Casserole with Chicken Lumps

4 boneless chicken breasts, each cut in half

most of a bag of frozen green beans (I use the French-style green beans just because I like them better)

2 cans of cream of mushroom soup

soy sauce (a couple of tablespoons, I think)

garlic powder

cayenne pepper (just 2 or 3 dashes)

salt and pepper

Brown the chicken breasts on both sides in a skillet, but don�t cook them through. Then place them in a lasagne-size pan at even intervals.

Mix the soup, soy sauce, garlic powder, cayenne, salt and pepper together thoroughly and add the green beans (at least partially thawed). Dump the soup and bean mixture over the chicken breasts, evenly distributing it in the pan. Cook the casserole for about 20 minutes at about 400 degrees. Sprinkle the crunchy fried onion things on top and return to the oven for 10 to 15 minutes more.

We had Sauvignon Blanc with this. It was perfect.

The evening overall was a blast. I�m delighted that Anat is here and available to hang out with us. I hope to see lots of her. Though I don�t plan to try to keep up with her because her social schedule could probably lead me to an early grave. For one thing, my bedtime is earlier than hers. But then again, maybe I could stay out late once in a while.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood