Southern Fried Diary

Garden Magic
2002-07-01 @ 1:12 p.m.

As part of my lunch today I had a couple of cucumbers and some tomato slices, all of which came out of our garden.

The vegetable garden is a magical place for me. In the spring I plant seeds in dirt. It's just brown dirt. It doesn't seem like anything special. The seeds are small. They don't look like they'd amount to much. But with a lot of water and some care, they sprout out of the ground as tiny plants, seedlings that look like they could never possibly survive. But they grow into taller plants and eventually those plants produce cucumbers, or beans, or tomatoes. I can go into the garden and pick a cucumber and a tomato to put on a salad. Or I can pick enough beans over the course of a few days to serve as a side dish for a family meal.

I never really get enough out of the garden to financially justify the work I put into it. But it's so satisfying to know that the tomato in my salad is the result of a tiny seed I planted a few months ago. It's really very exciting to me, and that's worth all the sweat and hard work.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood