Southern Fried Diary

Green Chili Stew
2002-06-27 @ 9:20 a.m.

Damn. I missed getting to go out in the back yard in my nightie to day good morning to Jake. I didn't realize she was in my back yard until she rode past my dining room window on the motorcycle. Still it's a nice way to start your day when a butch in leather rides her motorcycle past the window while your putting cream cheese on your bagel.

Here is my crock pot recipe for Green Chili Stew. We had it last night. I put a little too much jalapeno powder in it but it was still good. The jalapeno powder came from one of those touristy pepper stores (this one was in San Diego). You could used chopped and seeded jalapeno peppers (chop and seed carefully, preferably with gloves on) or crushed red peppers instead.

Equal parts flour and finely ground corn meal

Olive oil

About 1 lb stew pork

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

Canned chopped tomatoes, about 28 to 30 oz.

2 15 oz cans beef broth

Oregano

Salt and pepper

Jalapeno powder

Green chilis (pablano) roasted, peeled an chopped

3 or 4 potatoes, cubed

cilantro, chopped

Combine all-purpose flour and corn meal in a bowl. Toss the pork with the flour mixture and salt and pepper. Heat olive oil in a skillet and brown the coated pork. When the pork is brown take it out. Add more olive oil if necessary and saut� the onion. Put pork, onion, garlic, tomatoes, beef broth, green chilis and seasonings (except cilantro) in crock pot. Heat on high for a couple of hours. Then reduce to low for 3 or 4 more hours. Put the potatoes and cilantro in for the last 3 hours.

Beer or cider goes well with this (or margaritas). The ros� we had also matched up fine.

At first when Sara started working this evening shift she's on I thought, "this is okay, I get the guys to myself in the evenings." But I'm really starting to miss having her around for the weekday family dinner. Although when she changes shifts, she and Jake will be spending more time at home in the evenings (a good thing for them, but I'll miss feeding Jake so often).

I'm almost done reading The Marketplace and I keep thinking I should switch to something else for a while, maybe something less sex-oriented. But what I really want to do is go on to the next in the series. I started the Marketplace to give myself some background before reading the fourth book, The Academy, which I haven't read yet. But I'm enjoying this so much I may wind up reading the whole series again before I move on.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood