Southern Fried Diary

Just the good stuff
2002-07-08 @ 11:39 a.m.

I got to spend some time with Anat on Friday. She, Sara and I got manicures and pedicures, and Jake took us all out to lunch. I think Jake enjoyed being the cock in the hen house, and I enjoyed seeing Anat while she was here.

Badsnake and I went to see Power Puff Girls on Saturday evening. It was great! Badsnake was even generous enough to sit through the movie in a room of nothing but six years old girls and their mothers. I've never seen the cartoon, but my ten year old kid really needed this movie. I want to be Blossom because, well, she's pink! They have a really cool Dad.

After the movie (because, you know the latest showing of Power Puff Girls is at 7 p.m.) we went to dinner at a Cajun restaurant on the other side of town. In another town, actually, that's on the other side of town. It wasn't what we expected and the food was fine, but nothing to get excited about. Still, it was an adventure, and we had a really good time.

Sunday afternoon Bad and I set up the badminton set I bought a couple of weeks ago and played badminton for almost an hour. The only drawback was that we were in Jake and Sara's backyard while Sara was trying to sleep (night shift). But it just added to the challenge of the game to have to be quiet.

Over the course of the weekend I finished the patio in Jake and Sara's backyard. It is pretty cool, if I do say so myself. There weren't enough bricks to do the whole area we had planned (Jake and I started this patio a couple of years ago), so I filled in the center and planted flowers around the border. Then there is a single row of bricks bordering the flowers so that the planting area looks like part of the patio. The bricks are old (I even had to chisel mortar off of some of them) so it looks kind of primitive. It's under a good size tree in their back yard right behind the new badminton area and the vegetable garden.

Family dinner Sunday night was good. I cooked roast chicken (brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with herbs de Provence and lemon pepper powder) with rice and salads. No wine this time because after dinner we all went out and played badminton for a while. It was a very nice ending to the weekend.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood