Southern Fried Diary

Sassy Women and Zinfandel
2002-06-14 @ 11:16 a.m.

The oat flour bread turned out okay. It tastes good. It just didn't rise as much as I wanted it to. I think I may need a new jar of yeast. I used to bake bread more often and go through a jar more quickly. I might ought to go back to buying it in the packets for now.

Last night Badsnake and I watched Lost in Space (the movie). Actually she probably watched all of it. I just watched part of it with her. I had some writing to do. But I loved the women characters. They are sooo sassy! A couple of places had me laughing out loud when they put the men in their places. But the cool thing about sassy women (as opposed to bitchy women) is that they also love really well. I adore sassy women. I don't yet consider myself one, but I aspire.

Tonight is leftovers night at Rancho South. Sometimes you have to do that when you cook enough for a family of ten and you only have four, or three or even two eating. I think there's enough leftovers in the fridge now to feed the whole block. Since I'm working the 12-8 shift today, it's a good day for me to be able to just come home and heat something up.

Rosenblum Cellars Zinfandel Vintners Cuvee XXIV - It's a good inexpensive Zin. I tried it a while back when we decided to get it for the store, but I'd forgotten how much I liked it until we had it at home recently. It isn't vintage dated (that's the reason for the cuvee number), so don't look for a vintage. We sell it for $9.99. It's rich with juicy berry fruit and spice. I really like Zins, but they are so trendy (I have a prejudice against trendy), and I forget sometimes in the passion of studying Burgundy, Italian wine, Spanish wine and now Bordeaux (the 2000 vintage is supposed to be hot) that good old California Zinfandel is a right nice wine.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood