Southern Fried Diary

Quick Pantry Meal
2001-11-30 @ 11:26 a.m.

Quick meals you can make from what you have on hand seem to be the rage, particularly popular among folks who have kids and jobs and not much time. So here's one for you.

Thursday is usually Sara's night to make family dinner because it's her day off during this cycle. But this week she had classes and didn't get home in time on Thursday. This was stuff I had on hand that was quick and easy.

1/2 lb smoked sausage

olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

1 onion, chopped

2 15-16 oz cans black beans

1 15-16 oz can diced tomatoes

1 - 2 tsp ground cumin

1 tbsp crushed red peppers

2 tbsp Southwestern blend bouillon seasoning (Wylers makes it)

rice

Put water on to boil for rice and cook rice according to directions.

I keep smoked sausage or kielbasa in my freezer. I usually buy a pound or two and cut each in half and freeze it for future use. It's pretty easy to cut after it's been frozen so it can go directly from the freezer to the pot. I cooked the sausage separately in boiling water (cut into chunks) and added it to the beans at the end.

Saut� the onions and garlic (funny, most of my recipes start this way) in a medium size pot or Dutch oven. (I got to use my new medium size yellow Le Creuset Dutch oven for the first or maybe second time.) I didn't quite let the onions get translucent because I was hurrying, and they stayed a little crunchy. I liked that in this dish. Add beans, tomatoes, cumin, pepper flakes and bouillon. I used black beans because I had them on hand. I usually keep cans of all kinds of beans in the pantry because they make quick, healthy meals. Pintos or red beans would work well with this recipe, too. Heat on high for a few minutes. Add sausage and then reduce to med.-low to simmer. This should all be done in about 30 minutes, or the beans and sausage can simmer on low heat until everyone is ready to eat. Serve the beans and sausage over rice. You can certainly leave out the sausage to make a lower fat, meat-free meal. (Does bouillon actually have any meat products in it?)

This is a good dish for beer or cider. Wines that will work include Syrah or Shiraz, Zinfindel, Gewurztraminer or Riesling.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood