Southern Fried Diary

Leftover Turkey Soup
2001-11-28 @ 1:17 p.m.

Every year my turkey soup, made from leftover turkey, is different. Badsnake says this year's is the best so far, so I'll share it with you.

The only part that takes very long is making the broth. You can do this on the same day that you plan to make the soup, or a few days ahead. I had time on Sunday to let the carcass simmer all day (with celery, onion, bay leaf, garlic, salt and pepper) so I did. I didn't cook supper Sunday night because Jake made an incredible spinach lasagna (yes, Jake can cook, too). Yesterday, Tuesday, we had plans for Jake and I to have a date in the evening, but she came down with Sara's cold during the day, so date plans were postponed. Instead, I made turkey soup, and we all watched Gilmore Girls (well, almost all of us - Sara just doesn't get into the sappiness of it).

As usual, my measurements are estimates since I didn't measure while I was cooking. Feel free to alter them to your own taste. (Of course, this same recipe will make great chicken soup, too.)

2 tbsp olive oil

one good size onion, chopped

2 or 3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup chopped bacon

2 celery stalks

salt and pepper

1 15 oz can diced tomatoes

turkey broth (about 1 1/2 to 2 quarts)

chopped leftover turkey (whatever you need to use)

2 or 3 tbsp tomato bouillon

1 or 2 tsp crushed red peppers

2 or 3 cups frozen corn

herbs

Saut� the onions, garlic, celery and bacon in the olive oil in a large pot or Dutch oven. I keep the bacon frozen until I want to use it and chop it while it's still frozen. It's easier that way. I like to add the salt and pepper at this stage. You can add more later when you have a chance to taste it. When the onions begin to get translucent and the bacon begins to brown, add the tomatoes and turkey broth and bring to a boil. Reduce to medium heat, and add turkey, tomato bouillon (use chicken bouillon if you can't find tomato), peppers, corn and herbs. I cook the turkey with herbs de Provence inside it, so those herbs also flavor the broth. I added a little thyme to the soup, also. Reduce heat again and simmer until you are ready for the soup.

About 30 minutes before you are ready to eat, put some water on to boil for pasta. I cook my pasta separately from the soup because you wind up with soggy pasta in the leftover soup if you don't. Serve the soup with a spoonful of pasta in the bottom of the bowl and ladle the soup over it.

Sara and I had Pinot Noir with the soup. (Jake had juice, and I may have mentioned that Badsnake doesn't drink wine. Her drink of choice is rum and diet coke with lemon juice if anyone was wondering.) The wine we had (Gallo of Sonoma Pinot Noir), while not bad on its own, tasted even better with the soup. That happens sometimes. A wine and food match so good that it actually improves the taste of both the wine and the food. If you add more peppers than I did you might want a Zinfindel or Riesling instead.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood