Southern Fried Diary

And she's smart, too.
2002-12-03 @ 12:57 p.m.

I look cute today. Pretty new green zip-up sweater over a black tank top (also teddy bear bikini panties). Unfortunately (?) the black jeans that used to be just snug enough to look nice on my ass are a little loose these days. Okay, maybe that's not so bad. My hair is pulled back in barretts giving me that youthful innocent look (heh, heh). My hair just keeps getting longer, and I keep letting it. It's just below my shoulders now. I like it. It hasn't been this long since college (did I say that already?) and that was a long (long) time ago. I've put a picture of myself naked on the fridge (so far no one has noticed) to remind me that I like the way my belly looks all round and feminine. Looking at it from the top isn't always as much fun as looking at it head on. I feel less fat and more luscious when I can look at myself the way other people do.

I started my morning at Caribou coffee shop this morning. I wanted hot tea and theirs is better than the tea at my usual coffee shop, and I prefer their atmosphere to Starbucks. I sat in a big cozy chair by the fire place. I drank my tea, wrote in my paper journal and read my wine book. It was a lovely way to start the day.

The only thing that has been a pain in the butt today so far has been the Wine Spectator's Top 100 list. The new issue arrived at some subscribers' homes yesterday, and we've already gotten phone calls from people looking for wines on the list. Don't go rush out to your nearest wine store and ask for wines on the Top 100 list. This is the top ranked 100 wines from the whole year 2002. Many of these wines were released near the beginning of the year. Most good retailers knew they were good when they came out. A good 2/3 of these wines are sold out (and many have been sold out for months). Most of the rest are too expensive to bother with. Every year this happens. People look at their Top 100 list and have to have this or that wine, or they come in with a list of 20 from which they might buy 2 or 3. The first few years I was here the list frustrated us to no end. As each customer came in and asked for a wine we had to research whether it was available. Now we think ahead and keep a list available to the staff of what we have and what we can get from the list. It saves a bunch of time. Now instead of taking a day to research the wine just to tell the customer it's been out of stock since July, we can say "Sorry" right off the bat. Save yourself the hassle. Find a wine seller that you trust and ask him or her to recommend wine for you. If they're any good they'll help you pick to your taste rather than theirs. If you're interested, keep an eye on this site and I'll give you a list of "Deb's Favorite Wine Values," of wines that should be currently available.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood