Southern Fried Diary

Evil-doer, you face the Tick!
2005-04-15 @ 3:31 p.m.

I love this weather. As usual I'm finding it hard to stay inside for any reason, even though my allergies have been worse than usual this year. I've been planting flowers like crazy. This weekend I need to get started on the veggie garden if there's going to be one. But my big accomplishment so far has been the destruction of a stand of palmetto grass. The evil weed was already in our yard when we moved in, right next to the backyard cottage door. Who would put a bush of razor blades next to a door? If you aren't familiar with palmetto grass, aside from being lucky, you won't know that it has long slender spikes (leaves) that, when green, look completely innocent, almost like a longer, more slender version of an iris leaf. It also has pretty stems coming up out of the middle of the bush with puffy flower-like things on the ends. Ours was about 10 feet high, when in full growth and about 4 feet around. It is evil. The innocuous-looking leaves that bussle out like an inside out hoop skirt will slice into you without your even knowing it. I have cut myself on the damn thing so many times and not realized it until the next day in the shower when something on my leg or ankle stings. Well, as of last week that bitch is history. Now that I know I can do it, I will soon be working on destroying the one next to Jake and Sara's driveway.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood