Southern Fried Diary

Wine Biz at Christmas
2002-12-07 @ 3:24 a.m.

Deb's Favorite Wine Values

I've tried to keep these to wines that are under or around $15. I've also tried to stick to wines that I thought could be found most places. Rather than choosing specific vintages, I've chosen wines that are generally consistent from year to year.

White

Geyser Peak Sauvignon Blanc

Geyser Peak Chardonnay

Mad Fish Chardonnay

Buckley's Chardonnay

Trimbach Pinot Blanc

Villa Maria Sauvignon Blanc

Chartron le Fleur Bordeaux Blanc

Basa Rueda (Spanish Sauvignon Blanc)

Perrin White Rhone

Bonny Doon Dry Riesling

Gunderloch Jean Baptiste Kabinett (a dry Riesling)

Rose

Bonny Doon Vin Gris de Cigare Pink Wine

Red

Bogle Zinfandel

Bogle Petit Syrah

McManis Cabernet Sauvignon

McManis Syrah

Guenoc Cabernet Sauvignon

Liberty School Cabernet Sauvignon

Santa Cristina Sangiovese

Librandi Ciro

Monte Antico (Italian Cabernet blend)

Castell del Remei Gotum Bru (Spanish Cabernet blend)

Paringa Shiraz

Penfolds Shiraz/Cabernet blend

Jaboulet Parallel 45 Cotes du Rhone

Perrin Reserve Cotes du Rhone

Chapoutier Cotes du Rhone

Guigal Cotes du Rhone

Sparklers (under $20)

Pacific Echo

Roderer Estates

I made a list at work where I could walk around the store and remind myself what I liked, but then I left the list at work. I may come back and add to this list more over the next couple of days.

I probably won't be doing much updating over the next two or three weeks. These are my hell weeks. Between now and New Year's Day the only days off I have are Christmas day and Sundays. Business is a little off so far this year. As much as I dread the craziness of this hectic time, I hope it picks up. Remember, be kind to your retail sales people this time of year. Even though Christmas is supposed to be generally a happy time of year, it tends to bring out the grouch in most shoppers. I know you are tired and frustrated from shopping, but the person behind the cash register is also tired and frustrated from too many shoppers wanting something you sold out of months ago.

One of my co-workers was asked for her resignation a couple of days ago. You have to be pretty upset with someone to get rid of an employee this time of year. She is a friend of mine and is already in a fragile mental state. But she was consistently very late and kind of out in space for a while now, not really working much. I feel bad for her, but I understand why she had to go. Mostly I will miss having her around.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood