Southern Fried Diary

Chocolate Experiment
2005-02-11 @ 8:48 p.m.

Yesterday I started working on a chocolate experiment. I wanted to make something like chocolate bark, a sheet of chocolate that could be broken into pieces, something sweet but very chocolatey. I don't usually like dark chocolate. I used one and three quarters bars of Ghiradeli sweet dark chocolate, melted it in a double boiler. Added some cocoa, about a cup, I guess; just a little bit of milk, maybe a couple of tablespoons; some vanilla and a shot and a half of Kahlua (the new higher alcohol kind just because that's what I had). It turned out to taste a little too alcoholy, and because of the alcohol it didn't harden even in the freezer. Don't get me wrong, it's chocolate, so it's still pretty good.

Next time (probably this weekend) I'm going to try it with less Kahlua and heat it longer in the double boiler to see if I can cook some of the alcohol off. Maybe I'll use a little more milk, too. We'll see.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood