Southern Fried Diary

Another year wiser
2004-01-08 @ 3:00 p.m.

Yes, tomorrow is my birthday. Thanks for acknowledging it Cin. I will be 47 years old. I am a very lucky woman to be going into the second half of my life with such blessings.

Tomorrow night we are having family dinner at Watershed, a restaurant in Decatur (is it still owned by Emily Saliers and did I spell her name right?). I have wanted to go there for a long time and, for some reason, never have. The chef is one of the premier Southern chefs and I'm looking forward to trying his stuff.

Then Sunday Bad and I are going to Mentone, Alabama. A tiny town on Lookout Mountain just across the Georgia line. I used to go there all the time during the years that my brother and sister worked summer camps there. I was in college and spent weekends on the river drinking beer. It is a beautiful area and I haven't been there in years. I am really looking forward to seeing if and how much it has changed. I know I've changed!

Though basically I'm still the beer swilling tomboy I was back then, I've added some experience and knowledge. And I'm less likely to play in the rapids at the top of DeSoto Falls (especially this time of year and with Bad there to yell at me if I do).

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood