Southern Fried Diary

Fritatta
2003-04-18 @ 3:01 p.m.

I�ve been reading a new food magazine that I like a lot. It�s called Eating Well. It gives lots of good nutrition info as well as seasonal recipes and food articles. Yesterday I was reading about the nutritional benefits of eggs. They still don�t recommend more than an average of one egg a day (even less if you have a cholesterol problem), but eggs are a very nutritious food. I love eggs and I don�t have a cholesterol problem, so I went home yesterday craving them. Bad already had her dinner since I was a little late getting home, so I made myself a potato and mushroom fritatta.

A fritatta is kinda like an omelet, kinda like a quiche. I cut up the potatoes (3 small red potatoes) and boiled them first. Scramble the eggs (I used 3) with salt pepper, oregano, paprika, garlic powder (whatever herbs or spices you like). Sautee chopped onions, mushrooms and a little bit of chopped jalapeno (I like spicy) in olive oil in a small skillet. When they are beginning to change (onions getting translucent, mushrooms turning slightly darker and a little shiny) add the potatoes. Make sure everything is evenly distributed around the skillet and pour the egg mixture around the skillet evenly. Cook on medium to med. low heat until you can see that the edges are starting to brown. I like to finish it off in the oven under the broiler. The top browns better.

It would be great to do this in a non-stick skillet, but I have yet to see a non-stick skillet that can go in the oven. I use a cast iron Le Creuset skillet, but not everyone has a girlfriend with a cookware fetish who has completely outfitted her in Le Creuset. But it doesn�t seem to stick too bad if you use enough olive oil and if the skillet is already hot when you put the eggs in.

I topped my fritatta with chopped tomatoes and sliced black olives. It was very yummy. I didn�t really expect red wine to go with eggs, but I had a bottle of Durif open, and I thought it was fine with the fritatta. I�m not sure what wine would be recommended with something like that. Maybe a Sauvignon Blanc. Durif, by the way, is a grape similar to Petit Syrah, with that big intense, jammy fruit � also similar to red Zinfandel.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood