Southern Fried Diary

Mashed Potato Casserole
2003-01-23 @ 3:11 p.m.

I haven't given you guys a recipe in a while, so here you go.

Mashed Potato Casserole

Mashed potatoes

Skim milk

Half n half

2 eggs

garlic powder

parsley

Parmesan cheese

Cook potatoes and mash them. I think I used about six small to medium potatoes. I peeled them, but only because the peelings didn't look good enough to use. Usually I prefer to mash my potatoes with the skins on. They're more flavorful. (Cut out the bad spots and eyes, of course.)

Since I had limited time to prepare dinner (or thought I did, but that's another story), I did this part ahead of time and put them in the fridge to keep. If they had been warm when I mashed them, I probably would have added some butter. But it was plenty good enough without, I think. Mash the potatoes (I use a good old-fashioned hand held potato masher) and mix in the eggs, a splash of skim milk and a splash of half-n-half (about � cup of each). Sprinkle on the garlic powder and parsley (to your taste) and add grated Parmesan (I used about 1/3 cup mixed in). Blend it all together well and dump it into a casserole dish. Bake it at 350 degrees for about 30 to 45 min. It will start to brown on the little peaks. Add another � cup or so of grated Parmesan on top and cook for another 15 minutes or so until the cheese melts and begins to brown on top.

This is a very rich dish. You might want to serve it with a simple meat entr�e and a salad. Though I didn't do that. We had braised chicken in a wine gravy (from current Food and Wine mag.) and steamed spinach.

With this meal we drank a dry Riesling (that's the wine the chicken was cooked in).

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood