Southern Fried Diary

Sundays just don't get better
2002-11-25 @ 6:37 p.m.

I had a fantastic day Sunday. There was only one way it could have been better, and, well, there just isn't time for everything. It was a beautifully warm, sunny day for November.

Sunday morning Anat brought her friend Martha to breakfast. We haven't see Martha in a while, so it was good to visit with her. We a great time.

Then, after breakfast and after Martha was delivered to the airport, Anat and I went shopping. It was kinda like shopper training since I got to learn from the master, er, mistress of shopping. I was mostly doing Christmas shopping, but Anat has a nose for bargains.

Then we came home to lounge in the hot tub for as much of the afternoon as we could. Jake and Badsnake joined us, and we all had cocktails and pumpkin puffs in the hot tub. Such decadence.

After tubbing, Anat and I retired to the deck (dressed) to do our nails. Jake sat with us and read from the second Sweet Potato Queens book (I don't remember the name of it. The first one is called Sweet Potato Queens Book. of Love. I highly recommend both of them.)

Family dinner was just the four of us, and I needed the intimacy of that. When we all four come together, just us, it has a very rejuvenating effect on me. Dinner was broiled steak, sauteed mushrooms, steamed sesame spinach (just steamed fresh spinach with a little salt and sesame oil, but it's wonderful) and boiled corn on the cob. We watched an episode and a half of So Graham Norton that Jake had recorded for us. It's a BBC America show that I love, but that usually comes on too late for me to see. But it has to come on late because it's hilariously nasty!

Dessert was homemade chocolate Heath bar ice cream and family lovin'. Any more goodness would have just been too much.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood