Southern Fried Diary

Mango-Tangerine Muffins
2002-09-25 @ 7:01 p.m.

Today I made Molasses Muffins for Badsnake, Mango-Tangerine Muffins for Jake and chocolate ice cream with brownie chunks for Sara, though Sara may not be thrilled about that - being on a diet and all. Wanna make bets on which member of the family says "we need to get her laid more often" first? My money's on Jake.

Mango-Tangerine Muffins

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1-2 tsp. cinnamon

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup plain lowfat yogurt

1/3 cup canola oil

1 egg

1 tbsp finely grated tangerine peel

1 cup chopped dried mango

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Chop mango and set aside. In a large bow stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In a medium bowl whisk together the sugar, milk, yogurt, oil, egg and tangerine zest; stir in mango. Add to the dry ingredients.

I use muffin paper liners (or use butter or oil in the muffin tins). Fill each cup about 2/3s full. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, 15-18 minutes. Cool in the tins for 5 minutes, then remove. Makes about 16 standard muffins.

This recipe is based on a recipe from the Williams-Sonoma Muffins and Quick Breads cookbook, but I changed enough of the ingredients to make it my own.

Tonight's dinner is fish tacos. The recipe is listed somewhere in my archives. In fact, I'm going to have to go look it up myself to see exactly what I did. Not that I'll necessarily do it exactly the same anyway.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood