Southern Fried Diary

Better living through chemistry
2002-08-26 @ 7:32 p.m.

First of all, L�Oreal Shock Proof Nail Polish truly is (shock proof). It has held up the best of any nail polish I�ve ever used. I have very brittle fingernails, and my hands take a lot of abuse. I�ve also found that if I use the Shock Proof clear as a top coat on top of other brands, they last longer, too. I guess you really do get what you pay for. BTW, my fingernails and toenails are all bright red. Yippee!

Now back to our regularly scheduled program.

I had an incredible weekend. The hot tub is a wonderful thing. Though I guess I should start calling it the spa, because we�re keeping it set at just below body temperature for now. Jake prefers mornings in the tub. I like evenings. (I don�t think Sara or Bad have a strong preference yet.) I love sitting in the water at twilight or after dark and looking up at the trees silhouetted against the sky, listening to the night sounds and occasionally feeling a breeze on my face. Also, naked boobies floating at the top of the water are a beautiful thing, night or day.

Drugs are also a wonderful thing. To answer Cin, I�m taking Effexor. I�m amazed at how quickly it�s made a difference in my outlook on life. It hasn�t made my issues go away, but it�s brought them back down to a reasonable size and allowed me the sanity to deal with them again. I�m still baffled by how quickly I went from joyous mental health to the depths of depression and now, through the miracles of modern science, back up again. I wish someone could explain it to me. But in the mean time, I celebrate joy. I will also attest to the fact that Effexor does not cause any problems in the area of libido, except possibly to free me from the depression enough to completely enjoy myself, as Magpie's Nest suggested. As I said, I had an incredible weekend. *blush*

Last night for dinner we had lobster, thanks to one of my customers at the store. He owns a seafood company, and we did some extra work for him, so he brought me a couple of lobsters. He also told me how to cook them and they turned out perfect. Use a pot that is plenty big enough for the number you are cooking. Put about 2 or 3 inches of water in the bottom and a generous handful of salt (to replicate the water they live in). With the lobsters, water and salt in the pot, bring it to a boil and leave it for about 12-15 minutes, depending on the size of the lobsters. They will be red when they are done.

With the lobsters, we had salads and roasted potatoes. The potatoes turned out really good. I cut small to medium size potatoes into eighths with the skin on and boiled them in salted water for just about 5 or 10 minutes, just to get them started. Then drain them and toss them in a bowl with a little olive oil, soy sauce,chopped fresh rosemary and salt and pepper (not too much salt since you�re using soy sauce). Put all that into a baking dish (sprayed with cooking spray) and bake at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes. Take it out and top it with grated Parmesan cheese and bake for about another 10 to 15 minutes.

Our wine was Sauvignon Blanc. If you�re dipping lobster in butter and eating a cheesy or buttery potato dish with it you want something crisp and acidic to balance the creaminess (I do, anyway).

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood