Southern Fried Diary

Salmon Quesadillas
2002-07-24 @ 9:47 a.m.

I just dropped Badsnake off at the airport on her way to New York. This is a trip I would love to be taking with her, but it wasn't possible. Every time I send her off on a long trip like this I spend the drive back home worried about something happening to her. If she ever didn't come back to me, it would be unbearable.

Jake had something at a restaurant recently that she asked me to try to duplicate based on her description - Salmon Quesadillas with a cucumber wasabi sauce. On Monday Jake and I discussed having family dinner yesterday evening because Bad was leaving today, but neither of us was thinking about the fact that yesterday was Jake and Sara's anniversary. By the time Sara reminded us, I had already bought the salmon for the quesadillas. So Sara and Jake had an anniversary dinner yesterday, just the two of them; and Bad and I had salmon quesadillas and a lovely evening at home alone before seeing her off to the Big Apple.

I broiled the salmon filets, skin side down with a light spray of canola oil, salt and a little minced garlic sprinkled on them. While the salmon was cooking (doesn't take long), I chopped tomatoes and onions for a salsa. This was not part of Jake's description of the dish, but I thought the salsa would be good on the salmon. It was a very simple salsa with just tomatoes and Vidalia onions chopped small and salted.

For the cucumber and wasabi sauce I peeled and chopped a small cucumber and added it to fat free yogurt (about a cup), low fat sour cream (about 1/3 cup), a little salt and a squeeze of wasabi - about two tablespoons, I guess (Tsunami brand, comes in a tube at Publix) and pureed the mix (with my handy new hand held blender thingy). Then I grated some mozzarella cheese. (I had planned to use monterey jack cheese, but the brick I thought I had disappeared.)

When the salmon was done ( a very pretty shade of Powerpuff girl pink), I flaked it off the skin with a fork and divided it and the cheese between four flour tortillas (warmed in foil in the oven) and folded them over (looks more like a taco than a quesadilla). We added our own salsa and sauce at the table (the table on this occasion being the coffee table since we were watching an old Ellen Degeneres stand-up comedy special while we ate).

The quesadillas were quite good, though I haven't gotten Jake's opinion yet on how close they are to what she was looking for. Since today is my day off I'm taking lunch to her at work - leftover salmon quesadillas. We'll see how well they do today and how they compare.

I had sake with the quesadillas last night, which was okay, but not ideal. A dry ros� would have been better, I think, or even a light style beer or cider.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood