Southern Fried Diary

Joys of pari-menopause
2002-05-22 @ 9:08 p.m.

I've been restless the last couple of days, wanting to write a lot. So my diary is the recipient of that energy. It's probably related to the mood swings.

Anybody else out there going through pari-menopause? (I think I spelled that right.) The pleasures of mood swings abound. (Pari-menopause is the last few years before menopause, before you actually stop menstruating. It's when the craziness starts.)

Ever needed to cry for no reason? Or worse than that is when you cry an unreasonable amount over something that ought to be fairly simple. How do you explain to someone that you feel like your world is falling apart because they didn't look at you just right. Especially since the next day you are on top of the world and nothing has changed significantly except your mood.

My periods have been tapering off, or so I thought. But I'm on birth control pills to regulate my hormones (haven't had sex with a man in almost 15 years, and I'm back on birth control pills). The doctor explained to me that I'm not going to stop having periods as long as I'm on the pill. Damn. If I stop taking it my periods might stop sooner, but I'll drive myself and everyone I know over the edge. And this last one proved her right. It was as heavy and as long as any have ever been.

The hormonal mood swings feel like PMS, but the joy of pari-menopause is that those kind of mood swings can happen at any time in the cycle. They are completely unpredictable. Sometimes I don't realize until the next day that my tide has been in flux, hormonally speaking.

I've discovered soy, however. Chocolate soy milk is the goddess's gift to pari-menopausal women. If I realize I'm in the depths of a grumpy or depressed mood soon enough, a glass of soy milk perks me right up. Really! I didn't believe it would have the dramatic effect it does. It's like magic. I (heart) soy milk.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood