Southern Fried Diary

Chicken and Spinach with Pesto
2001-08-29 @ 12:13 a.m.

This week is a cooking bonanza for me. Sara is in crime-stoppers class, complete with homework, and Jake isn't feeling well (still trying to overcome a summer cold) so neither of them has felt much like cooking. So I'm cooking for all of us on the nights I'm home, which are most of them this week.

Monday evening when I called the girls in for supper, Badsnake and Sara were chatting with Ricky across the street. Lucy is out of town, so he was baching it. I told them they could invite their little friend home for supper if they wanted, so they did. He was delighted to have the invite, and we all had a great time. I love impromptu gatherings like that, and I especially like having neighbors whose company you enjoy enough to invite to dinner.

family and friend

I'm trying to use the stuff that's already in my freezer as much as possible this week. Since we're leaving on vacation Friday afternoon, I don't want to just keep filling up the freezer. And I probably have enough in there to keep us all fed for a week. Monday we had Chicken and Spinach Pesto served over pasta. It is very quick and very easy. This fed all five of us easily with enough left over for me to have for lunch today.

Two large boneless chicken breasts, chopped into bite-size cubes

1 med onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

salt and pepper

1 can (15 oz) diced tomatoes (drained somewhat)

1 pkg (10 oz) frozen spinach, thawed and drained

1 cup frozen corn

1/2 cup pesto

pasta, cooked

Saut� the onion and garlic in olive oil. Add chicken chunks and salt and pepper. When chicken is completely browned, add tomatoes, spinach, corn and pesto. Simmer to warm thoroughly.

I used farfelle (bow-tie) pasta. You can use just about any kind of medium-size pasta or large noodles like fettucine. Cook the pasta to your own taste. Put the water on the stove before you start working on the Chicken and Spinach Pesto or you'll have to wait on the pasta.

I served grated Parmesan cheese on the side for folks to use as a topping if they wanted it.

chicken and spinach pesto

We drank an Australian Grenache Shiraz with this. It wouldn't necessarily have been what I would have recommended, but it was a really good wine and it matched up just fine. The Viogner we had been working on before supper (and that Sara had with supper) would have been more like something I would have recommended, and I assume it matched just fine, too.

For a recipe for pesto see my entry on Pesto Cream Sauce. I usually keep some pesto in the freezer.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood