Southern Fried Diary

Double-Decker Chicken Quesadillas
2001-08-27 @ 5:46 p.m.

Sara didn't get to come home for supper last night. She was working late. Unfortunately I had not planned a meal that was easily conducive to reheating. I haven't heard yet if she got to eat it. She stopped by here on her way in to her house thinking Jake might still be here, so I gave her the last quesadilla. (I reheated a quarter of one in the oven that was leftover from last night for lunch today and it was pretty good.)

I made Double-Decker Chicken Quesadillas loosely based on a recipe I saw on Hot Off the Grill with Bobby Flay. The first time I saw that show I thought he was an arrogant dickhead. But then I discovered that all male chefs are arrogant dickheads (have you read Kitchen Confidential?) and Bobby Flay isn't so bad. Now he's kinda fun to watch. He has a certain flair. Is that Jersey?

quesadilla on plate

Here are the ingredients for my quesadillas:

4 boneless chicken breasts

1/4 to 1/2 cup lime juice

2 cloves garlic minced

olive oil

jalapeno powder

salt and pepper

one medium onion sliced into half moons

2 cups sliced mushroms

2 cups frozen corn

1/2 tsp cumin

1 large sliced green bell pepper

2 cups grated cheddar cheese

1/3 cup crumbled blue cheese

12 medium-size flour tortillas

red chili powder

I made four quesadillas, planning to feed 4 people. Turns out we could have probably been happy sharing 3 quesadillas between four of us. The blue cheese makes this very rich.

3 quesadillas

Start by soaking the chicken in the lime juice. I didn't leave it in for very long because I didn't think of it soon enough. Next time I will probably soak it for at least an hour. Then pan fry the chicken breasts. Of course Bobby Flay grilled the steaks he made this with, and you could certainly grill the chicken breasts. But I don't have one of those in-the-counter grills like he does, and I don't see the point in washing the grill for this when I can do pretty well on top of the stove. But I did use one of those skillets with ridges on the bottom of it that makes the chicken look like it has grill marks on it! I heated the skillet with olive oil in the bottom. When the skillet was nice and hot I put the chicken breasts in, salted them, sprinkled a little jalapeno powder on them and a little black pepper. I got the jalapeno powder during our recent trip to San Diego at some tourist shop that featured hot pepper products. I've never seen it anywhere else. You could probably use chili powder, cayenne pepper or maybe minced jalapenos. Don't stand over the stove this while it's cooking. The pepper makes you cough.

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

When the chicken is just done take it off the stove and let it cool. In a regular skillet with a little olive oil, saut� the onions and mushrooms. When the onions are getting translucent add the corn and cumin. I take this out when it's hot and saut� the bell peppers separately because Badsnake doesn't like bell peppers. Whenever I cook with them I keep her food separate.

Set the onions mixture aside and slice the chicken lengthwise into strips. Lay out four of the tortillas and put grated cheese on each. Then add chicken strips and some of the onion mixture and bell peppers. Put a little crumbled blue cheese over that. Another tortilla goes on top of that and repeat the layers (cheddar cheese, chicken strips, onion mixture, bell peppers and blue cheese) and top with another tortilla. Spray the top tortilla with olive oil and sprinkle with chili powder and place them in the oven for 5 to 7 minutes or until the top tortilla begins to brown on the edges. The olive oil will help the top tortilla get nice and crisp.

When you take them out of the oven you can cut them in quarters with a pizza cutter and serve with a dollop of sour cream (light sour cream if you prefer). Serve them immediately while they are warm.

I had planned to have a beer with this. Badsnake and Jake had margaritas. But I was working on a glass of Pinot Grigio when I started eating (yes, I like to have glass of wine while I cook) and decided to finish it before I opened the beer. It turns out that the Pinot Grigio was perfect with the quesadillas. The rich sweetness of the blue cheese needed the light, crisp, tartness of the wine to balance it. A Sauvignon Blanc would have also been good, especially if I had used any more spicy pepper powder than I did.

Earlier in the afternoon I had made chocolate caramel ice cream. But we stuffed ourselves on quesadillas and had to sit motionless for a while before we could even consider dessert. Fortunately there was a Witchblade marathon on TV. Witchblade is one of those shows that is like a car wreck for me. I can't stop watching it because Sara Petzinni (does anyone know how to spell that character's name?) is so fucking hot! Especially in slow motion and especially when that armor thing slaps itself around her arm. Do you think she might hold me down by the neck with that thing just long enough to kiss me really hard? Then she could deactivate it to do whatever else I could talk her into. But then the show gets really tense and violent and I want to look away, but I can't. It stresses me out! Is that weird or what? A submissive masochist who fantasizes about being subdued by a woman in heavy metal but can't stand to watch violence on TV. [Deb shakes own head in bafflement]

Anyway, ice cream came later, and Sara still wasn't home from work. Jake was fading so she went home. (I thought she was going to bed but it turns out she watched the rest of that Witchblade episode and the next one too). Badsnake and I snuggled on the couch to watch, except that she kept getting up to get a drink or smoke a cigarette, leaving me to hold the pillow between me and the television for protection. There are times when I miss the days when she used to smoke in the house. I got to spend more time with her.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood