Southern Fried Diary

Tips, Tits and Shrimp
2001-08-01 @ 12:15 a.m.

If you haven't been reading my guest book, check it out. It is getting chock full of recipes and tips. I love that!

As many of you already know I get to keep both of my breasts for at least another year. After my annual mammogram about a month and a half ago, I got a letter asking me to make another appointment for more pictures. I considered offering to e-mail them photos like the one in Badsnake's diary, but I don't think that's exactly what they wanted. After I made the appointment I managed to forget about it (mostly) until the big day. On Monday morning I avoided crying pretty well, though I almost choked up when I asked the technician if that was my breast x-ray hanging on the x-ray box and could she show me what they found. She gave me a flyer explaining that I had calcium deposits that could be benign or an indication of a malignancy. She took one set of x-rays and disappeared. Then came back and took another set and disappeared again. As Badsnake has said, when she started x-raying my left breast with the precious family tattoo on it, I almost said out loud "You can't have that one!" In the letter they had assured me that it was the right breast they needed pictures of. I had breathed a sigh of relief over the letter. At least the dolphins were safe. Leave that left breast alone, lady! Fortunately she had a doctor hidden in a room somewhere who was looking at the x-rays as she took them, so the technician could come back and tell me my boobies were safe for another year. I treated myself to lunch at my favorite Southwestern restaurant (fish tacos, yum) to celebrate. Everyone at the Rancho was relieved (though Jake had assured me that she could do plenty with one breast if it came to that.).

So now I have time to share that shrimp recipe that I promised Nicole. Sara made this a couple of weeks ago and it was really good. It's from one of those Betty Crocker mini-cookbooks you see at the checkout line in the grocery store (Speedy Summer Suppers).

Italian Shrimp Stir-Fry

3/4 lb uncooked medium shrimp in shells

8 ounces uncooked linguine

3/4 cup reduced-fat Italian dressing

1 1/2 tsp grated lemon peel

3 cups broccoli flowerets

1 med. yellow summer squash, cut in half moon slices (1 1/2 cups)

2 tbsp water

8 cherry tomatoes, cut in half

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil

Peel shrimp. (If shrimp are frozen, do not thaw; peel in cold water.) Make a shallow cut lengthwise down back of each shrimp; wash out vein.

Cook and drain linguine as directed on package; keep warm. Mix dressing and lemon peel; set aside.

Spray 12 inch nonstick skillet or wok with cooking spray; heat over medium-high heat. Add shrimp; stir-fry about 2 minutes or until shrimp are pink and firm. Remove shrimp from skillet.

Spray skillet with cooking spray; heat over medium-high heat. Add broccoli and squash; stir-fry 1 minute. Add water. Cover and simmer about 3 minutes, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are crisp-tender (add more water if necessary to prevent sticking).

Stir in dressing mixture; cook 30 seconds. Stir in tomatoes, basil shrimp and linguine; stir-fry until hot. Serves five.

I'm taking an extra day off this week because work has been so stressful that I'm ready to snap at customers for the simplest questions. And even though my boss probably wouldn't fire me for telling him to "Fuck off" (one of the reasons I stay at this job), it's probably better not to test the theory. So for the next couple of days I plan to do some cooking to relax. I'll try to make time to keep you posted.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood