Southern Fried Diary

Back to normal (as normal as it gets)
2004-01-03 @ 11:57 a.m.

Things are getting back to normal at my end of the universe. With Christmas and New Year�s Eve over, the store has slowed down and we�ll be back to having a normal number of days off and even leaving early occasionally. Which means I�ll be back at the pottery studio soon. But not until Bad lets me drive.

I fell night before last and twisted my ankle pretty bad. Everyone has asked if alcohol was involved and no, it wasn�t. I just slipped in my own damn back yard and fell on some brick pavers � skinned one knee and twisted one wrist a little, but the worst injury was the ankle, my left ankle, so I don�t want to operate a clutch just yet. Bad has driven me to work yesterday and today. She is off all week. I wasn�t going to come to work yesterday, but they needed me, so I came in and brought a stool. I just sat behind the counter all day and rang people up. Today I�m trying to stay off it again. It doesn�t hurt nearly as much but it�s still swollen. I�ve been taking a prescription-strength anti-inflamitory for an inflamed ligament (or tendon?) in my left thumb, so I think that�s helping the ankle too.

Christmas was wonderful. It was just the four of us. I got a Hello Kitty boom box for the cottage workshop and some cds, a big stuffed moose to sleep with when I�m sleeping upstairs and a bunch of cash to spend as mad money (woo hoo!). Other cool stuff, too. It was a very cd Christmas at the ranch. Everyone got at least one cd for Christmas. Jake got a whole bunch of donations made in her name to animal resource organizations (that�s what she asked for) like Atlanta Pet Rescue and others. Bad had fun picking them out. I gave everyone gift certificates because I didn�t have much time to put creative thought into the gifts.

New Year�s Eve was quiet (except for some revelatory gun-fire in the neighborhood). I worked the closing shift at the store (until 10 p.m.). When I got home the four of us got together for bubbly and socializing. We watched the ball drop in times square, and then watched part of an Austin Powers movie.

New Year�s Day Bad went with me to visit my bio family. It was just my brother and his wife and kids and my mother. My niece was sick so my sister�s family didn�t get to come. I enjoyed the visit very much. My nephew�s are old enough to be very interesting. They are smart and talented. My younger niece is 3 years old. She painted my fingernails and drove Bad crazy (not a kid person, remember). All in all it was a very good day for me.

Now I�m back to biz as usual. Did I mention that I can�t wait to get back in the pottery studio?

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood