Southern Fried Diary

Muffins and stuff
2002-10-03 @ 2:36 p.m.

I had a very nice wake-up call this morning. Expecting a rushed Badsnake who wakes me up every morning with a kiss just before she leaves (yes, I have a good life), I was instead kissed awake by leather-clad Jake just before she rode off on the Savage. Mmmmm. Nice morning.

I also had a great bicycle ride this morning, and I bet Jake had a nice motorcycle ride. It was a beautiful morning. We�re back to tank top weather here, by the way. I ride to the nearest MARTA, which is only about a mile and a half. Then I ride the train to Midtown. My usual stop puts me about another mile and a half or two miles from work. This morning I got off a couple of stops early to give myself some extra riding time. I didn�t mind riding on Peachtree Street even with all the traffic. There seemed to be lots of other bicycles on the road, too. The weather has been perfect. Yesterday (my day off) I rode up to the Brake Pad for lunch and then rode around for a while afterward. I got to see Anat�s new apartment from the outside. I'm looking forward to seeing the inside when she gets here.

Yesterday I also tinkered with the muffin recipe I posted last week and made it low fat. I used skim milk instead of whole milk, unsweetened applesauce instead of canola oil, one cup of chopped dried apricots and about 1/3 cup of apricot jam (actually Smuckers All-Fruit jam). I left out the cinnamon because I was afraid it would be too much with the jam. You put about a tablespoon of batter into each muffin cup, then add a scant teaspoon of jam and cover with more batter to bring it up to about 2/3 full in each cup. Cook at the same temperature until a toothpick comes out of the center of a muffin dry. This made about 18 muffins. According to Sara�s calculations the muffins were two points each on the Weight Watchers plan. So I did pretty good in the fat reduction department. They are also really tasty.

One thing I have discovered in making all these muffins - I like to use the paper liners because it�s an easier clean-up. But on low-fat muffins, especially when they are still warm. If you wait until they are cool, they paper comes off more easily.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood