Southern Fried Diary

Luckiest Girl
2002-03-25 @ 11:28 a.m.

Tomorrow evening I have a date with Jake and we get to use the attic. So today I went up there and did a little prep work. I made the bed and made sure there were plenty of candles available and generally did a little straightening up. But most importantly I found a couple of toys that haven't been used in a while (one I'd almost forgotten that I had) and set them out within easy reach. A girl's gotta be prepared.

One evening last week I experimented on a new dish with Badsnake. I made Turkey and Broccoli Turnovers. I was trying to think of ways to use ground turkey. I keep buying it because it's low fat. But then I stick it in the freezer and forget to use it. I like it okay in meatloaf if it's mixed with more flavorful meats (like ground beef or ground pork). But I don't really like it in spaghetti, which I make fairly often. So I was trying to think of something for turkey. I'm not going to give you amounts here. I'll let you come up with those on your own.

ground turkey

minced garlic

chopped onion

olive oil

fresh or frozen broccoli

low fat Ricotta cheese

grated Parmesan cheese

oregano

thyme

ground cumin

red pepper flakes

salt and pepper

pie crusts

Cook the ground turkey in olive oil with the onion and garlic until the turkey is brown. Mix it in a big bowl with everything else (chop the broccoli into fairly small pieces). Pillsbury makes pie crusts that come packaged flat and folded over. I used those and cut each one in half. Spoon the mixture onto the pie crust half, enough to mound up a bit. Then fold over the crust, brushing water around the edges to help it stick. Set them on parchment paper on a cookie sheet. I have come to truly appreciate the joys of parchment paper. It keeps cookies and other things from sticking to the pan without adding oil, and more importantly (to me) with less mess. Cook in 450 degree oven for 15 to 20 minutes, until the crust is golden brown.

I liked these, but Badsnake said they might be better with a sauce of some kind inside. They were kinda dry. I may try that soon. I recently got a Cook's Illustrated cookbook on sauces and gravies. I can probably get some ideas from it. The problem I anticipate is keeping the sauce from running out of the crust. Maybe just a little bit will help without making a huge mess.

I probably drank whatever wine was already open in the fridge. Bad doesn't drink wine unless I open a bottle of Riesling (which would have gone quite well with this dish, but she was already working on a rum and coke). This month the open bottle was probably an Alsatian blend (I've been drinking a lot of this inexpensive blend that I love), and it would have gone perfectly with this dish.

Yesterday morning I surprised Bad by waking up a little horny, so we had a lovely little morning tete a tete, so to speak. Then we had a wonderful Sunday. Breakfast on the new deck (Jake and Sara's); some chores for me, a nap for Bad. I had a late lunch on the deck. Jake and Sara had already eaten their lunch on the deck, but Jake was still outside reading to keep me company while I ate. Dinner on the deck (the deck got quite a christening) was grilled steaks with rosemary potatos and sesame spinach. The meal was a joint effort. With my steak I had a wine that I love, Catena Malbec 1999. I haven't tried the new 2000 vintage yet, but I have high hopes for it.

After dinner I had a bit of a crying spell. I don't know if anyone else does this, but sometimes I feel like crying without knowing a reason. Jake found me alone on the couch with one of the dogs, and we talked for a few minutes. Then she encouraged me to allow myself to cry and left me alone (I don't like to cry in front of people). I did cry some but couldn't bring myself to let it go for long because my family was all coming back together on the deck for dessert. Still don't know why, but I guess it was good for me. It's frustrating to feel like crying on such a wonderful day when I feel like one of the luckiest girls in the world.

Dessert was strawberries dipped in chocolate. Sara found some huge, beautiful strawberries from a street vendor and did wonders with them.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood