Southern Fried Diary

Lip kisses and seafood stir fry
2002-02-15 @ 5:50 p.m.

For Mulher: It would help to know the herbs and/or spices used in your Brazilian dishes, because that has a big impact. But offhand I would suggest Spanish red wines, in particular Rioja, Ribera del Duero and Priorat. Priorats are primarily Grenache grapes and a little spicy. Rioja tend to be earthy and woody balanced by rich dark fruit. Ribera del Duero can be less woody and earthy depending on the producer. Both are made primarly from Tempranillo grapes. Also look into South American wines, especially Argentine Malbecs.

Last night was our first family dinner together in over a week, mostly because of the virus germs I've been carrying around for the past week. Appropriately enough our reunion was on Valentine's Day. It was so good to get us all back together again. Lip kisses are something I tend to take for granted. But when you have to do without them for a while, you learn to truly appreciate them. Cheek kisses are nice, and forehead kisses are adorable, but there's just nothing like full on lip engagement. Glad to be doing it again.

For dinner last night I made a fish and shrimp stir fry. I'm trying to put more fish in our diet. Stir fry is one of my favorite easy and quick meals, but I've never really done it with fish before. I've used pork, beef, chicken, the standards. But I grew up in farm country in the southeast, no where near the ocean. Sometimes my father went lake fishing, but he didn't usually catch much. So fish and other seafood weren't a big part of my growing up diet.

Stir fry is a very quick process. You have to be very careful not to overcook anything. I did last night's meal in three stages. I had to get shrimp in the shell, so I stir fried them first in olive oil until just pink on both sides. Then I set them aside to cool and peel.

The vegetables have to be all chopped and ready to go before you light up the fire. Next I threw the vegetables (yellow squash, scallions, mushrooms, frozen green peas) into the same wok I had just cooked the shrimp in. Add salt, pepper, soy sauce, chopped ginger and toss them around the wok until they soften just a little. Then I set the vegetables aside in a bowl and cooked the fish.

I used tilapia because it was a good price. A firmer fish might have held together better, but this worked out okay. I chopped the fish into bite sized chunks, heated some peanut oil in the wok and cooked the fish with salt, pepper and lemon juice until it was white on both sides. Then put it all together. Peel the shrimp and add back to the wok. Add the vegetables, and I put some crushed red pepper flakes in at the this point for a little spice. Stir it together to warm and combine flavors. Serve with rice.

Wine: We had a dry ros�. Sauvignon Blanc would have also been good. The ros� we had was a fun new wine from South Africa called Goats Do Roam. Apparently, aside from the play on words with Cotes du Rhone, they do actually have goats roaming the property.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood