Southern Fried Diary

Short and Sweet
2002-01-14 @ 12:25 p.m.

Thanks to all of you who left me wonderful birthday greetings.

I haven't had much time for diary entries lately. I wanted to share with you the recipe for "Outrageous Warm Double-Chocolate Pudding" that Badsnake told you about (my venture into lowfat land), but the day has gotten away from me. I got the recipe from the December 2001 issue of "Cooking Light" magazine. Actually Sara found it for me. It is an issue that includes recipes from a chocolate desserts contest. Yes, I admit I am reluctant to use substitutions for real food in order to cook low fat meals (or especially desserts) but this turned out quite good even with egg substitutes and low fat canned milk. (I cheated, the recipe called for fat free canned milk - Have you ever seen the stuff? The first time I opened a can of fat free canned milk I poured it out because I thought it had gone bad. It is very yellow in color and just doesn't look right for milk.)

I also made strawberry ice cream (not low fat) with fresh strawberries that I got on my birthday trip to the Farmer's Market. (This is becoming an annual event, I think. I love going to the Farmer's Market. We used to live less than a mile from it. Now I have to pack a lunch to go.) Tonight when I get home from work I'll get to try the ice cream.

Yesterday was a wonderful day. Badsnake and Sara had a date in the attic. Jake and I sat on the front porch for a while because we just couldn't bear to go inside on such a beautiful day. We had books in our laps and glasses of wine, but we talked so much we barely read at all. It was a lovely afternoon. When the sun started going down we moved inside and climbed into bed to play a little until the date time was up (about 30 minutes). When Sara got home, we were asleep snuggled against each other. When I tolded Badsnake what Jake and I did on our date she said "You two are fucked up" (she was kidding). But we had a very nice time and we have an attic date scheduled for tomorrow night. As Jake said yesterday in bed, "how to get everything you wanted out of a day."

I love my life.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood