Southern Fried Diary

Spicy Chicken Broccoli Casserole
2001-12-05 @ 7:46 p.m.

"Trying to love two women is like a ball and chain." Lyrics from a country song, but untrue. Although I must admit that sometimes I'm still adjusting (after, how many years is it now, five?) to being able to feel such incredible passionate love for two women at once. And then you add Sara, the love I feel for her and her importance to me as part of my family . . . Where is my model? Where is my validation? Where are the rules that tell me when I've gotten it right?

Last night I had an incredible date with Jake. Sometimes I feel guilty that I have long, intense sexual dates with Jake and what I want most from Badsnake is more about security and stability. Don't get me wrong. Bad and I still have great sex, just not as often as we used to. But, more often than she would like, the times I look forward to most with her are quiet walks around the neighborhood with the dog or sitting up in bed at the end of the evening reading our books next to each other. There is something very wonderful about knowing that is how my day is going to end, day after day.

Anyway, Jake and I had a sex date last night. We played with toys and sharp objects like bad girls should. But first, my girls had to be fed, both of them (Sara was at work). I didn't want to spend any of my precious time grocery shopping so I made a mental inventory of what was in the fridge and here's what I came up with.

Spicy Chicken Broccoli Casserole

2 boneless chicken breasts, chopped

1 med size link of sausage (about 1/4 lb - just enough for flavor) also chopped

2 cups frozen broccoli pieces

1 7 oz can mushroom pieces, drained

2 or 3 cups cooked pasta

1 can condensed cream of chicken soup

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

2 tbsp Dijon mustard

1 or 2 tsp garlic powder

2 light dashes cayenne pepper

1/2 cup grated parmesan

Cook the chicken and sausage in a skillet. I had some leftover bowtie pasta from a previous meal. Spray the baking dish with cooking spray and spread the pasta on the bottom. Spread the meat, broccoli, and mushrooms evenly over the pasta. Mix the soup, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, garlic powder and cayenne together and spread on top, Cook in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes. Take it out and sprinkle the parmesan on top. Increase heat to broil and return to the oven under broiler. Leave only until the top begins to brown.

You can see how this was inspired by Sunday's Fillets Elegante. I liked this one even better.

We had an Alsatian blend wine called Gentil made by J.B. Adam. Gentil, by law has to be at least half made from the traditional noble grapes of Alsace: Riesling, Gewurztraminer, Muscat, and Pinot Gris. It is an inexpensive wine but perfect for foods like this. The combo of sausage and mustard, in fact, reminded me a little of an Alsatian dish. A wine made from any of the grapes in this blend would be appropriate for the meal.

I tried not to eat too much because I was planning on physical activity after supper, so that left enough for Jake to have some to take for lunch today.

During our date in the attic (we don't get to use the attic as much because Bad and Sara have so many elaborate scenarios planned into their dates and Jake and I usually just go au naturel, as she has said), Bad stayed downstairs in our house instead of going next door because she had stuff she wanted to do. That was a little weird. Maybe you find it weird enough that I'm having a sex date with the neighbor, but while my wife is downstairs? It worked out okay. I made up my mind to not let it stifle me. But the time I had to come downstairs to pee and said hi to Bad in the kitchen making cookies was a little distracting. We need a bathroom upstairs.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood