Southern Fried Diary

Melisa's asparagus
2001-10-29 @ 10:32 a.m.

I met Badsnake's friend Melisa early in our relationship. I was delighted to meet her, particularly because Bad had talked about her so much. She was an important friend to a woman who was quickly becoming very important to me. Melisa visited Bad at her house (before Bad and I moved in together). She was very pretty with lots of curly hair. She was also very gregarious and full of life. I was impressed and a little intimidated, particularly since she and Bad had been lovers.

She was also a scientist. Bad talked about her work in a northern city in words I never completely understood. But Melisa shared something much more basic with us. She cooked the vegetable dish in a meal we were sharing. She had a great way to cook asparagus that she wanted to show us. I have made asparagus the same way, or similarly, several times since and I always think of Melisa when I do, even though that is the only time I ever saw her.

Melisa carefully washed the asparagus and cut off it's tough, stubby ends. She melted butter in a skillet and saut�ed a couple of chopped garlic cloves in the butter. Then the asparagus went in the skillet with fresh, chopped basil. She sort of stir-fried it on med-high heat until it was just tender. It was very good.

Since then I have experimented with using olive oil instead of butter (just as good), and, more recently, chopped dill instead of basil (also good). Last Thursday evening Bad and I had the night to ourselves so I brought home a steak for us to share, and we had baked sweet potatoes (I like butter and sour cream on mine) and dilled asparagus. Yum.

Asparagus clashes with some wines, but I had a nice peppery, earthy Rhone wine to go with the steak and it was fine (a Gigondas which has Syrah grapes - but I don't necessarily think a fruitier style California Syrah or Australian Shiraz would have worked as well). My wine and food book suggests Sauvignon Blanc, Reisling Kabinett, young Chardonnay or Cabernet Franc with asparagus.

Since I have started working more day shifts I am home more evenings, and Bad and I get to eat supper together more often. It's been a long time since I cooked elaborate meals for just the two of us, but now I am doing it again. She is great to cook for.

Back in the days before extra girlfriends, I was only home a couple of evenings a week. Bad got to watch more horror movies (yuk) when I was at work, and we had a couple of very special evenings together plus Sundays. I actually prefer to work evenings if I were only thinking about my job. But now I have more people I want to spend time with. I work Monday evenings; Thursday and Sunday are family dinner nights; and one of the other evenings is usually date night (I'm hoping for one soon). Sometimes three or four of us get together another evening for anything from Buffy the Vampire Slayer to a Jazz concert. That leaves me about one good evening with my wife if I'm working day shifts. So I work more day shifts. I love my family a lot.

P.S. Cinxxx, I've never tried to make pumpkin cookies, but it sounds like an interesting challenge. If I come up with something I'll let you know.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood