Southern Fried Diary

Finally, chorizo
2001-07-22 @ 12:55 p.m.

Making your own chorizo isn't as hard as it may sound. Sara and I have both done it for different dishes. This recipe isn't quite the same as chorizo from a Mexican market. But one of its advantages is that it's less fatty. Which makes sense, since it comes from Cooking Light magazine (Jan./Feb. 1999 issue in an article by Maria Moss).

1/2 lb boned pork loin

2 tbsp cider vinegar

1 tbsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp paprika

1 tsp vegetable oil

1/2 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp salt

1 garlic clove, crushed

Trim fat from pork. [I have also used chicken to make this, which made a different, lighter tasting sausage. Last time I made it, I cheated and used ground pork from the grocery store, so it was a little more fatty but still not as much as pre-packaged chorizo.] Combine pork and remaining ingredients in a food processor, and pulse until well-blended. Place mixture in a zip-top bag; seal and marinate in refrigerator 8 hours or overnight.

Place a medium skillet over medium-high heat until hot. Add pork mixture; cook 5 minutes or until done, stirring to crumble. Yields 1 1/2 cups.

Sara made this for the soup recipe that is with it in the magazine. I made it and used it in a different soup that I threw together from whatever needed to come out of the freezer. Now, whenever a recipe calls for chorizo, I'm at least tempted to make my own if I have time.

prep | clean up

Selling vulva vases! - 8:25 p.m. , 2005-05-13

Dapper dicks - 8:21 p.m. , 2005-05-09

A breezy night in Georgia - 9:12 p.m. , 2005-04-28

Things that go bump in the night - 12:46 p.m. , 2005-04-26

Evil-doer, you face the Tick! - 3:31 p.m. , 2005-04-15


Nothin' says lovin' like...
Comfortfood